The President of Malta

The first edition of the Malta STEM Education Awards held under the patronage of the President of Malta


The awardees of the first edition of the Malta STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) Education Awards – organised by the Science Centre (Pembroke) within the Directorate for Learning and Assessment Programmes (DLAP), and under the patronage of President of Malta George Vella – were announced during an online event on Monday evening. The Malta STEM Education Awards have been established to celebrate outstanding practitioners and entities that foster high quality STEM education practices.

The President, George Vella, explained how these awards acknowledge the added value of a national policy that focuses on the cohesion of science education, the well-being of the community, and development in the world of work. He expressed the wish that more female students take up STEM subjects. Whilst congratulating all the winners, he added that they will continue to be an important example for Maltese students by inspiring them regarding the various opportunities in the respective sectors.

Desiree Scicluna Bugeja, Assistant Director at DLAP, said that, “The DLAP is highly committed to provide Quality STEM Education to all students. Indeed, the Malta STEM Education Awards celebrate professionals and entities that inspire young students to pursue STEM subjects and careers. In a rapidly changing and increasingly complex world, STEM Education remains a national priority to equip young students – the future leaders – with the necessary scientific literacy to understand and solve complex challenges of today and tomorrow while meeting the demands of the dynamic evolving workforce.”

The awardees were Nadine Mifsud, who was awarded as a distinguished STEM educator in early years; Sabrina Camilleri, awarded as a distinguished STEM educator in primary education; Duncan Ciappara, awarded the Distinguished STEM Educator Middle Award; Stephanie Maggi Pulis, awarded the Distinguished STEM Educator in Secondary Award; Richard Zahra, awarded the Distinguished STEM Educator in Post-secondary Award; James Galea, awarded the Technican Award; Pauline Grech, awarded the Distinguished Educational Leadership in STEM Award; Michael Spagnol, awarded the Distinguished STEM Professional Development Award; Analisa Magro, awarded the Educator within Community Award; the United States Embassy in Malta, awarded the Education Partnership Award; Gaetano Bugeja, awarded the Exceptional Contribution to STEM Education Award; and Joseph Bartolo, awarded the Lifetime Contribution to STEM Education Award.

The awards will be presented to the recipients by the President in a ceremony to be held in the coming days.

Skip to content